Creating a Video and Suffering from Nostalgia

So my reading week happened to fall during the week my old high school had their annual Grade 9 Music Retreat. Which is all fine and dandy but weeks before I had a lot of the current music council asking me if i have a copy of the promo video created by John Cullen many years ago. Of course I didn’t and told them that it was only on DVD and if it wasn’t there well tough, gotta make a new one.

But then I thought about what i was going to do during reading week and decided that I would extend an invitation to Caswell to maybe do a bit of work for him and help them out with a new promo. Of course I wasn’t going to replace the still developing “video portfolio” I left behind but now they were in need of a good promo for one of their biggest events so I offered to produce something of quality while letting the portfolio see what it takes to make a video, win-win for everyone.

There were some issues when planning the trip however as Boris Wong couldn’t come back as he still had mid terms so I didn’t have access to a lot of equipment but that just made the challenge even more fun. I was able to bring Nicole and Lance to help me out with the shoot and all things considered it turned out pretty well and i was able to almost complete my vision of what i wanted but the rain that started in the morning didn’t stop until later so my whole intro was gone; rather the intro I wanted to be there was gone and just increased the challenge.

All things considered, everything turned out alright and it was sorta fun to go there and see the workings of music retreat, although i was working as well, watching the facilitators running around and execute everything just brought back all the memories of when i was in their shoes. This is what turned out of the 2 day retreat.

Leave a comment